Moral courage

I’ve just watched the view on Science and moral questions on the week 2 page and read the page highlighted in Marna’s post which clearly explains the difference between ethics and morals.  A quick google for moral ethics in healthcare found some interesting papers but especially this one on moral courage.

Thoughts so far:

  • Morals are your own internal values/opinions which influence your actions.
  • The ethics of your society and professional community may not influence your moral values but will probably influence your actions!
  • Your moral courage will determine to what extent you are prepared to honour your own moral values/opinions when these conflict with the ethical framework as determined by your society, profession, place of work etc within which you are operating.

See this news story which highlights a culture in the UK NHS that strongly discourages some moral actions of its employees – NHS whistleblower Gary Walker ‘faced bullying culture’… would you be courageous enough to do the right thing in such circumstances?  I don’t know if I would have been….

4 thoughts on “Moral courage

  1. Hi Tony. I love the idea of moral courage. I was conducting a Delphi study as part of my PhD and one of my panelists highlighted the importance of health care practitioners having a sense of moral courage, of making the choice to do the right thing, even when there are factors that discourage it. It’s made all the more difficult when the discouragement is coming from an authority, like your institution or head of department! I like to think that I’d do what I believe is right for my patient, no matter what. However, in reality it’s not such an easy choice. Thanks for sharing the links, I’ve added the one on moral courage to the Twitter stream.

  2. Pingback: Do I dare to acknowledge the real influences on my morality? | wendywalker

  3. Pingback: Week 2: Reflection | Chantelle van den Berg

Leave a Reply

